Rereading

I never used to reread books. I always thought there were too many new stories that I didn’t know yet, to spend time on a story I already know. In fact, it has only been in the past year or so that I began to reread – and realised exactly what I was missing out on.

Don’t get me wrong, I still stand by the mass of new stories just waiting to be read. But lately I’ve been finding it extremely difficult to find books that grab me. So many blurbs sound the same, so many plots look the same; so I’m getting a little tired. But, more on that another time.

The beauty of rereading is that you find out things you missed the first time around. If you’re anything like me – devouring the book in the shortest time possible – then you might be missing out more than you realise. Rereading also means you know the story better (so that smug little part of you can show off your character knowledge) and so you become more involved as a whole.

It also gives you the satisfaction of knowing what comes next. You know what the outcome is, and so instead of racing to the finish line you can take the scenic approach. You can take your time with the book; absorb every word and live inside the novel. I found this particularly with A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I knew the beauty of the novel, I already knew I loved every word of it – but rereading it gave me the chance to dwell in those stunning passages, and really reconcile just how much I loved that book.

Rereading novels has definitely become a part of my life now. Perhaps mostly to keep up to date with what has been happening so far in a series – I had to read the first three Throne of Glass (Sarah J. Maas) novels again before the fourth came out to keep up – which I will be doing over and over again as the series I am reading keep expanding. Then again I’ll also be rereading for pleasure. Sometimes you need a good book to get you out of a reading slump, and only one you know and love can do that.

How do you feel about rereading? Love it? Hate it? Let me know!

Photo Credit | Alan Liu

Leave a Reply

