Harry Potter Studio Tour!

On Wednesday I got the absolutely spellbinding opportunity to visit the Harry Potter Studio Tour just outside of London!

Our university offered us a £12 trip to see the Warner Bros. studio, featuring hundreds of props and costumes, and behind the scenes treasures! It was an incredible day, one I will not forget in a long time!

20161214_163536

Upon entering the Studios we were confronted by the huuuuuge Christmas tree (above). As it’s the Christmas season, the Hogwarts elves had been hard at work! That meant snow falling outside the windows of the Great Hall, and the model of Hogwarts covered in a magical, fluffy white. It was stunning, I know it’s cliché, but I honestly couldn’t believe my eyes.

20161214_155254

The first half of the tour takes you through the sets and costumes. From Hagrid to Dobby, everyone is included – and let me tell you, the full size Madame Maxime costume was a sight to behold!

hagrid-maxime

Something that I didn’t expect to hit me as hard as it did was the Hogwarts Express. It stands there, in all its bright red glory, making you desperately wish you could jump on a travel to Hogwarts. There is a carriage per film – and one still have the love heart drawn by Lavender to Ron!

hogwarts-express

At the halfway point is a cafe where you can purchase Butterbeer! And outside is the Knight Bus, Privet Drive, Potters’ Cottage, and the bridge to Hogwarts! We were even treated to fake snow billowing around the courtyard for Christmas.

20161214_152044.jpg

The second half of the tour covers animatronics and makeup. Let me tell you, that stuff is amazing! It is mind blowing to think how many people worked on designing and making the props and costumes; and how much time and effort had to go into every single piece. We saw Aragog, the Basilisk, and even Buckbeak (who very graciously bowed to us). I can’t begin to describe the feeling of seeing all of this in person.

buckbeak.png

The Harry Potter tour is so vast and holds so many wonderful items that I couldn’t possibly cover them all here. I urge you, if you can, to visit the tour at any opportunity you get. I already want to go back! It is beyond worth it, and for me, only made the magic of Hogwarts more real.

Before I go, I’ll leave you with a couple more treats…

20161214_142404           monster book.png          20161214_154122

Last but not least, I’d love to hear your tales of the studio tour! What did you think? What was your favourite piece?

I own all of the photos within this article except the feature image (credit).

Leave a Reply

