Favourite Books of 2016

The year is quickly drawing to a close and so, after reading a grand total of 27 books this year (which is nowhere near my Goodreads target, but oh well) I thought I’d share my favourite books of the year! Only one of these was not published this year, but unfortunately I can’t afford to buy new books all the time – and it’s more than deserving of a feature on this list!

Let’s begin…

1) A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (2016)

This was by far my favourite book of the year. I have read it twice to far which, for me, is a big deal (see my post about Rereading!). I absolutely adored this book, and even more so second time around. Sarah J. Maas is easily by favourite author – and Throne of Glass used to be my favourite series, but now I’m not so sure. ACOMAF really was a stunner of a novel and I seriously can’t wait to get my hands of A Court of Wings and Ruin next year!

2) Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine (2016)

Rachel Caine is also in my top 5 favourite authors. I absolutely loved her Morganville series and watch gutted when it finished, however I personally think that her Great Library series is even better! I bought the first in the series (Ink and Bone) on a whim because I knew I loved Rachel Caine. I was beyond delighted at her new concept, and Paper and Fire just had me wanting more more MORE.

3) On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher (2016)

I never properly shared my thoughts on On the Other Side, mainly because I love Carrie and I found myself slightly conflicted when thinking of how to write a review. I loved the concept, the story was beautiful and had me in laughter and tears. I was a little underwhelmed with the writing, but I would love to read something by her again. In fact, I recently bought Winter’s Snow, Carrie’s novella which tells the tale of one of her characters from On the Other Side. I’ve been saving it to read over Christmas so I’ll be getting to it soon!

4) Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas (2016)

This is on my favourites list because I love this series. I love the characters, the world, the relationships – I love everything about it! I’m desperate for the next installment…cliffhangers are a killer. I will admit I was slightly disappointed with Empire of Storms – not because it wasn’t good, but because ACOMAF was so good that it was difficult to beat. Having two novels released in a year must be tough, and I think releasing them the other way around would have been better. Despite that I still loved the story, and it’s still on my favourites!

5) A Discovery of Witches trilogy by Deborah Harkness (2011-2015)

I had the first two books of this series bought for me a while back, but I hadn’t got round to reading them. I finally picked them up this year and I fell in love with them. I raced through them, found the third in my local library, and raced through that too. It’s not often that I read an entire series back to back but I really couldn’t stop with this one. It was so refreshing to read about a character who is slightly older than the typical age of YA heroes. It meant that relationships could develop more – she had more life experience! It was great, and I’ve added Deborah Harkness to my list of authors to watch out for.

favourites-2016

What do you think of my list? Are any of your 2016 favourites on here? If not, I’d love to hear what you loved! Let me know in the comments, and have a great day!

Featured Image Credit | Lisa Hanson edited by myself.

In-post Image Credit | Goodreads edited by myself.

 

Leave a Reply

