Christmas Haul

I was lucky enough to receive quite a few books for Christmas, so I thought I’d haul what I got!

Fiction

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg – this was recommended to me by Goodreads as something I may like having read ‘The Night Circus’ (by Erin Morgenstern). It sounds very exciting, and I’m bound to love anything like The Night Circus!

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – I’ve heard so many good things about this novel and it certainly sounded interesting. Can’t wait!

fiction-xmas

Anno Dracula by Kim Newman – I have honestly beenwanting to read this book for a good three years. I hope it lives up to expectations now I finally have a copy!

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Scwab – I read ‘A Darker Shade of Magic’ when it first came out and although I may have to reread it before getting stuck into the second novel, I loved the world building and characters the first time around, so why wouldn’t I love them again?

Non-Fiction

The Great British Book of Baking from Penguin – I love baking; this is only going to fuel the fire. Maybe I’ll start writing baking posts!

non-fiction

150 Student Recipes from Love Food – very helpful, filled with lots of yummy things! I’ll be honest though…I think the desserts section with get the most love.

The Book Lover’s Treasury of Quotations from Hatherleigh Press – an absolutely stunning gift from my mum. I have quotes hanging all over the place in my room at uni; I can’t get enough!

Notebooks

Notes and Doodles from The Really Useful Journal Company – this is such a sweet and novel idea – notes pages placed intermittently with mandalas and botanical pictures to colour in for a relaxing time.

Inspiration is Everywhere from Paper Place – a gorgeous, hard-backed, golden-edged wonder. This will soon be filled with lots of scribble!

notebooks

A beautiful handmade leather notebook from the Manchester Christmas Markets – a beautiful gift from my boyfriend who skipped back to buy it after I had admired a whole stall of them. I think I may use it as a tiny commonplace book!

***

I think it’s safe to say I’ve done pretty well! I can’t wait to get my nose buried in new worlds, new foods, and new writings. These will definitely keep me going for…six months or so!

What books (if any) did you receive for Christmas (or any other winter holiday for that matter)? I’d love to hear!

Featured Image Credit | Spindle Magazine edited by me

All in-post images taken from my Instagram

Leave a Reply

