January TBR

11th January 2017

I know I know we’re almost halfway through the month BUT I still thought I’d write a quick post of my January TBR! This is something I hope to continue each month, but considering I don’t always plan what I’m going to read for the month, I’ll at least try to write a haul each month.

jan-tbr-2017
Check out my instagram!

I planned to read five books this month, and I’m already doing pretty well! I think I may even exceed my target which is great – I’m desperate to smash my Goodreads reading challenge this year!

1) The Last Wish ~ Andrezej Sapkowski
My boyfriend gave me this book to read (I made him read The Night Circus so he gave me a book in return). It’s the books that inspired the video game The Witcher (which I haven’t played), a game my boyfriend likes. So, on his recommendation, I read it. The Last Wish is a collection of short stories, set before the main series – from what I can gather. I finished this book on the 4th (after starting it on 30th December…it still counts!) and I really enjoyed it. I loved the world and it was interesting to read something different to my usual. It’s a fantasy novel – which I read lots of – but it has something that makes it different from all the rest. It’s definitely worth a read!

Status: READ!

2) The Perks of Being a Wallflower ~ Stephen Chbosky
I read this book for the first time a few years ago now, but I saw it on my shelf and decided it deserved a reread. I’m so glad I did because there were things in it that I’d completely forgotten about. I’ve seen the film a few times but the book is actually quite different –  a lot darker than the film conveys. A beautiful read.

Status: READ!

3) The Queen of the Tearling ~ Erika Johansen
I got this book for Christmas from my Grandad. I’ve seen it around on Instagram and thought about reading it for a while, but then a few days ago I finally picked it up. I didn’t regret it one bit, and finished it four days later (last night). You can read my almost-five-star review of it over on Bookstacked!

Status: READ!

4) The Paper Magician ~ Charlie N. Holmberg
I was lucky enough to receive this book for Christmas as well, from my mum this time. I’ve had my eye on it ever since it was recommended to me by Goodreads, based on The Night Circus. I haven’t started it yet, but I plan to today! It’s only short so I’ll reckon I’ll have finished it within the next couple of days.

Status: Currently Reading

5) The Crown’s Game ~Evelyn Skye
This book I got from My Bookish Crate last year and just never got around to reading it. I thought it about time and added it to my January TBR just to make sure I did! I’ve heard good things about it, and I haven’t read all that much historical fiction (it might have fantasy elements too, I’m not sure) so it’ll be good for me to try. I’ll let you know what I think!

Status: TBR

Have any of you read any of these books? What did you think? If not, do you want to? I can assure you the first three are worth it!

Leave a Reply

