Countdown to University | Take Me Back Already

Just two weeks left, that’s it,Β I tell myself as my brain screeches to go to uni already. It’s been so long, and I’m bored. I’ve had enough.

I can’t help but look forward to all the new and exciting things this year will bring. The societies, the work, the friends. I’ll be living in the same city as my boyfriend again, which I can’t wait for.

But these next two weeks have suddenly yawned open in front of me. This week is especially hard, and so the week after seems even further away. And aside from two days in London, I have no plans. That bothers me – without plans, without things keeping me busy, time seems to drag. And I’ve been of a pretty low mindset these past couple of days whichΒ doesn’t help in the slightest.

I’ve had enough of living at home. I’d had enough last year, to be honest. But this year that feeling has come back with renewed strength and I am itching to get out, get away. I want to go out on my own, to live where I choose and with whom I want to. I can’t really do that for this academic year but living in halls is a step in the right direction.
This time last year I planned to not come home that much during summer – I thought I’d have friends to live with and a house to live in. Part of that came true, but then I changed universities and naturally everything else changed, too. So I’ve been back at home, unplanned, for far too long.

It’s time to move away again, to have the freedoms living on my own grants me. The happiness it grants me.

Soon I’ll go…soon.

But not soon enough.

Featured Image | News Cult

Leave a Reply

